Maybe you’re like me -- I learned to love history from reading historical fiction. But history books that list treaties and battle dates are dry reading for most of us -- we want to know what it felt like to be alive in 1650 or 1250 or even 1920. That's where fiction comes in -- it helps us feel what other people feel, and therefore helps us understand ourselves.

When I write, that’s what I’m trying to do – to understand. When I began The Plantation Series, I wanted to understand not just what it meant to be a slave, but what it meant to be a slave owner. Even the scoundrels among us, at least most of them, want to see themselves as moral creatures, but how did -- in fact, how do -- people reconcile doing something horrendous and still feel they are good to the bone. This question has led me through all my novels – how do we see ourselves and how do we learn to see more clearly?

I invite you to the Novels page on this site for a thumbnail sketch of each book. The first four are part of The Plantation Series: A Saga of Slavery and Deliverance. Other novels dealing with race are The Lion's Teeth and Livy. Under the category of historical women's fiction you'll find three more titles: Crimson Sky, Theena's Landing, and Tansy.

Now Available!

The second novel in the New Hope series . . . What We May Be continues the exciting and romantic saga of Louisiana's earliest French settlers. Available from Amazon as a Kindle ebook and in paperback.

  Join Gretchen's Facebook Fan Group

  Join Gretchen's Mailing List

Please visit my Amazon Author Page, and my blog .

Copyright © 2006-2016 by Gretchen Craig.